Announcing a new CAPA NSW Program - EOIs invited

23 Apr 2014

Our Regional and Rural Committee has announced a new Program to enable suitably accredited CAPA NSW Members to provide free telephone / skype counselling and supervision services for people living in rural communities.

Following discussions with the the Department of Primary Industries (DPI), the NSW Farmer’s Association and the Country Women’s Association (CWA), the Committee has developed the CAPA Rural Outreach Program (CROP). Once the Program has been established, any rural resident who is experiencing financial, emotional or relationship distress, and for whatever reason cannot use the nearest community service, will be able to access CROP counselling services.

Expressions of Interest are now invited

Our Regional and Rural Committee is now seeking Expressions of Interest from Intern, Provisional Clinical and Clinical Members who wish to participate in CROP.

Appropriately accredited Members who have expressed their interest in participating will be included on the CROP database of counsellors and supervisors. The database will be accessible to clients and potential clients via CAPA NSW’s website. CROP services will only be provided by telephone or Skype, so it is not necessary for participating counsellors / supervisors to reside in a rural area.

CROP participants will provide their services free of charge. Training, program information and intake forms will be provided. Hours accumulated through the delivery of ongoing (i.e. not single session) CROP counselling services will be valid for use with CAPA NSW renewal and regrade applications.

Subject to receiving a sufficient level of response from Members, the Committee will seek funding to promote CROP to rural communities. We may also be able to access funding for subsidised professional development, conference attendance and clinical supervision for the benefit of CROP participants.

Please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to Jo Fleet, Regional and Rural Committee Chair.